Application Process

Open AllClose All
  When can I apply for the LTC-CIP?

CBIC will begin accepting applications for the LTC-CIP beta test examination on July 13, 2022. The application will close on October 3, 2022. The exam will re-open for regular testing in early February 2023. 

  What is beta testing?

Beta testing takes place with a newly developed examination. Not all the questions used on a beta test will ultimately be used for scoring. An in-depth analysis of the performance of all test questions is conducted with a group of subject matter experts. The statistics from the beta test are used to ultimately develop the final examination and set the passing standard. Test takers participating in the beta test will not receive their results until this analysis has taken place. There is a discounted examination fee for all beta test takers.

  What are the eligibility requirements for LTC-CIP?

Successful long-term care infection prevention certification indicates competence in the practice of infection prevention and control within a long-term care setting. This includes:

  • Responsibility for the infection prevention and control programs/activities in a long-term care setting. Candidates will fill out an attestation form confirming this information.
  • Completed post-secondary education in a health-related field including but not limited to medicine, nursing, laboratory technology, public health, or biology.  Post-secondary includes public or private universities, colleges, community colleges etc. 

More information is available under Eligibility Requirements.

  Does an LPN/LVN meet the post-secondary education requirement for the LTC-CIP?


  Does a Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) meet the post-secondary education requirement for the LTC-CIP?

No. Post-secondary includes public or private universities, colleges, community colleges, etc.

  What is the cost of the LTC-CIP?

The beta test examination will have a reduced application fee of $275. The examination fee will increase to $410 in February 2023.

  When will I receive my results from the beta test?

Results from the beta test will be emailed to you in early January 2023.

  Is the examination available in paper-pencil format?

No, we only offer computer-based testing through Prometric. The examination can be taken a physical testing center or at home via Prometric’s live remote proctoring platform, Pro-Proctor.

  What happens if I do not pass the beta test?

The exam will re-open for regular testing in early February 2023. At that time, you can reapply for the examination. Between October 16, 2022-January 31, 2023, the long-term care certification examination will not be available. CBIC policy states that unsuccessful candidates must wait a minimum of 90 days between examination attempts.

  I require special testing accommodations – are these offered for the LTC-CIP?

Yes, candidates who have a learning disability, a psychological disability, or other disability that requires an accommodation in testing should indicate this on their application and are required to submit the Documentation of Disability and Request for Special Exam Accommodations form with their application.

  How can I prepare for the long-term care exam?

CBIC encourages all candidates to review the exam content outline:

General Questions

Open AllClose All
  What is the difference between the CIC and the LTC-CIP?

The CIC and LTC-CIP have different content outlines which were developed from two separate practice analyses. For the CIC, long-term care is briefly addressed, but the LTC-CIP exam focuses specifically on the knowledge base and practices directly relevant to long-term care. Hence, while some of the topics in the content outlines overlap, all content domains for the LTC-CIP are interpreted specifically for long-term care.

  How does the difficulty level of the LTC-CIP compare to the CIC?

The same rigor of test development and content creation went into the LTC-CIP as the CIC. CBIC adheres to the standards set by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) to ensure that all exams meet the stringent standards set by the credentialing community. NCCA standards state the certification program must use panels of qualified subject-matter experts (SMEs) to participate in all aspects of test development, including the setting of the passing standard, known as the standard setting.

The LTC-CIP is developed by actively working infection preventionists within long-term care settings. Both the CIC and LTC-CIP examination content are based upon results of a practice analysis, which is a survey of practicing professionals in infection prevention and control that is conducted by the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc. (CBIC ®) every 4-5 years.

  What is the difference between the LTC-CIP and other certificate programs or infection prevention online training?

The LTC-CIP results in a certification. Other programs may be training programs for staff that results in continuing education credits and/or a certificate. The LTC-CIP was written by actively working infection preventionists in long-term care settings. Content was developed based on the 2021 Practice Analysis. Learn more about how the examination is written by reading the Practice Analysis and reviewing the content outline.

  What is the difference between a certificate and certification?

A certificate is awarded following the completion of a course or series of courses provides education and training around an intended learning outcome.

A certification is awarded following successful completion of a comprehensive examination process and provides an independent assessment of the knowledge, skills, and/or competencies required for competent performance of an occupation or professional role. After passing the LTC-CIP examination, certificants may put “LTC-CIP” after their name.

A certificate program typically encompasses baseline knowledge while a certification indicates mastery of knowledge. The Institute for Credentialing Excellence outlines the differences online.  

  Is the LTC-CIP an accredited examination?

CBIC will be applying for accreditation through the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) once eligible. The Institute for Credentialing Excellence states, “A new certification program (one that has not previously received NCCA accreditation) may apply for accreditation either after one year of administration of the assessment instrument or when at least 500 candidates have been assessed with that instrument, whichever comes first.”

  Will this certification meet the requirements of the Fixing Long-Term Care Act 2021 (FLTCA) ?

Yes, both the CIC and the LTC-CIP meet this requirement. 


Open AllClose All
  How long is my long-term care certification valid?

Recertification must be completed every five years.

  What are the recertification options for the LTC-CIP?

Recertification will be available through Infection Prevention Units (IPUs) or through examination. Additional information is forthcoming.